The Break Up

My words are slow.  I’m no good at this.

Listen, you have been a been a part of my life since I can remember. Countless are the times you’ve been with me when I needed you – always within arm’s reach.

When I wake up, you are there. A tough day at the office, you are there. When friends or family want to talk though their issues, you support me.

You are strong…very strong.

Your scent brings me life. Your flavorful, exotic body is temptation personified. Dark, bold, and smooth, the taste of you lingers on my lips and carries me through the day’s drudgery.

It’s Not Me. It’s You.

It’s because of this, I must let you go. I’m breaking up with you.

No, there is no one else. I’m not afraid of commitment. No, I don’t need my freedom.  Oh please do go there.  Believe me, this has nothing to do with you being from Columbia.  You know that has never mattered to me and it only makes you more exotic and wild.I will not miss your rich uncle St. Arbucks.

I hope you believe I am sorry about your family’s Christmas party.  It was an unfortunate mistake and misunderstanding. In either case, no, I’m not attracted to your sisters, Arabica and Robusta.

Why?  Why am I doing this?  Why am I doing this???  It’s just…

No Good Together

You are not good for me.

I’m high on you in the morning.  You make my heart race.  I shake because of you.  Each day I crash because I don’t have enough of you and I don’t feel like myself until I have more of you.

During the small hours when I lie awake, it’s because of you.

Our relationship is an addiction – for me, anyway.  Simply, I have to find an alternative that’s healthy, pure and transparent.

Healthy, pure, and transparent alternative
Healthy, pure, and transparent alternative

Yes, I know I am lucky to have you.  I understand you are upset.  Yes, yes I know.  There are millions of others who appreciate you for who you are and what you do for them.  You deserve them, and they, you.

Do you think this is easy for me? Without you, I’m a different person. The road ahead is filled with pain but I have to do it.  I have to do it for me.  I hope you can in some way understand.

I will not miss your rich uncle, St. Arbucks.

It’s a new year and I want to make a new start.  I will miss you and wish you all the best, Coffee.

Good-bye to Columbia
Good-bye to Columbia