The Road Home

As mentioned in yesterday’s post Road to Wellness:  Is Your Life Killing You?, I’m starting a journey. Equal parts recovery and self-discovery, I’m uncertain of the exact roads I’ll travel. However, commitment and determination will help me reach home.

The personal stakes are high. Failure is not an option.

Where's My Compass

Where’s My Compass?

The first task is to find my compass. When I’m too far off my heading or spending too much time and energy walking in circles, I must reorient and ensure I have the best chance to hit my True North.

I am convinced that the answer to long term success on this journey is not a capsule in a medicine bottle but my own lifestyle choices and how each interrelates holistically to my mind, body, and spirit.

The balance between these will lead me back to wellness. These are my compass and my heading.

It’s possible I’m wrong. More intelligent and skilled people than me fill this world.

Good…Now Where’s the Map?

A compass is great for general orientation. However, I think I need something more specific for the road ahead.

A mindmap I’ve created will serve as a temporary guide to get me started and lead me to other resources. The map will explode in different directions as I explore and I’m sure will be replaced eventually by something more concrete.

Where’s My Destination?

Personal wellness, as well as balance in the key relationships and roles in my life, are my True North. Living a life of meaning, for myself and others, is my destination.

I look at the terrain ahead. I expect it to be rough. Crossing rough territory requires honesty, thought, patience, planning, and tough decision making.

The crossing will deliver its share of high elevations, dangers, falls, and injuries. That’s OK. I expect those to be part and parcel of the journey.

As uneven, rocky, and mountainous as the path appears, especially at the start, eventually smooth ground must surface. Keep focus on shelter and finding smooth ground as well as True North.

Pack Light but Pack Right

To get where you want or need to go, you must have the right tools, right?

Fortunately, I’m not the first sojourner to travel this path, and unfortunately, nor will I be the last.

The Great News:  Many tools key to long-term, sustainable success already exist and I’ll be leveraging them, or refining them, as I move forward.

The Not-so-Great News:  I will be learning as I go. I’ve got a starter kit but I have a lot to learn. Even in this Information Age, I’m a novice with available resources to aid me on the journey of natural self-healing.

Just One Sojourner Among Many:  Community

It’s a big orb we inhabit with many complex paths. However, there’s one thing of which I am completely certain:  I’m not on this road alone.

Community is key to mutual survival. It actually goes beyond survival into the realm of thriving. Knowing you are not alone on a difficult journey lifts the spirit.

SW, traveling his own road, will be along for the journey. He’s taught me the value of sharing and community particularly during seasons of struggle.

This road I walk is well worn by current and former travelers. With luck or intention, our paths will cross. If you happen to be one of them, please stop by. We can trade ideas, stories and tools.

Sharing my journey was never intended to be a personal catharsis benefitting only me. I hope to help others who might struggle similarly, if only in some small way, and learn.

Road to Wellness Dispatches

If you have the time and are so inclined, check-in. Feel free to drop me a line/comment. I value knowledge share, encouragement, and feedback – particularly if you see I’m about to step blindly off a sheer cliff or into a bear trap. Ouch!

So I’ll wrap up this dispatch with an excerpt from Frost’s Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening (1923):

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep.

That’s enough for tonight. Tomorrow’s another light.

From one sojourner to another, all the best..